Legal Question in Disability Law in Arizona

Service Animals

Hello I am curious to find out a bit of info that I am currently researching. A client has a prescription from his physician for a Dog as he is suffering from 2 chronic Illnesses, However the landlord at the complex is stating that he needs to pay a 200.00 deposit and pet rent, she conviently pointed out the ADA hotel/motel guideline and said that was her loophole to be able to charge a deposit and pet rent after researching with the ADA they have stated that is incorrect and that a deposit/fee may be charge only afterwards if the service animal has caused damage to the property, also the tenant signed a lease for 6 months and the apartment complex is stating that the tenant would have to move or switch apartments as there is new carpet in his unit, also stated that tenant would nto be able to do so until after his 6 mo lease is expired. tenant is 1 month into his lease. I have also checked with fair housing and urban development and they r looking into this as well, however I do recall seeing on there website that a landlord may not do these things and that is considered discrimination against a disabled individual. I am curious to get some other opinions here

Asked on 6/24/02, 12:06 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Service Pets/ADA-Fair Housing Violation

I hope someone can give me some pointers on this one, this is a very complex issue to be skirting with a lot of greyed areas still

Read more
Answered on 12/31/69, 7:00 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Disability Discrimination Law (ADA) questions and answers in Arizona