Legal Question in Medical Malpractice in Arizona

My daughter who was handicapped had a surgery in January and in her pre-op it stated that she was prone to pneumonia, we brought her home a day early from standard stay for this procedure and when in 6 hours she was gone, the cause of death was pneumonia, nothing relative to the surgery she had, she was under anesthesia for about 4 hours, after surgery they never did any respiratory intervention like having her walk or blow in to the device with the ball which is basic practice after surgery. Their explanation was that if it doesnt state in the Dr's orders to do these things then they don't have to implement them, I have talked to many nurses since who have said that ANY anesthesia patient must do these things to prevent pneumonia and more so in her case because it stated in her pre-op that she is pneumonia prone, please answer if that is negligence on their part for not supplying sufficient post op care to a complex patient, thank you

Asked on 4/08/14, 8:11 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Joyce Johnson-Stovall Johnson Stovall and Associates PLLC

In order to determine whether negligence occurred, you will need to have the records reviewed by a doctor to determine whether the care fell below the standard.

Read more
Answered on 4/15/14, 11:19 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Medical Malpractice Law questions and answers in Arizona