Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in Arizona

My father passed away May 16, 2013. There was no will so the house (house is located in Virginia) went to my brother and I. It was put in our name. We just sold the house and now, as the court named me executor of his estate, I am looking at paying my dad's four credit card bills. One is $5000, one is $1700, one is $300 and one is $100. Am I obligated to pay these debts from the sale of the house even though the house was sold in mine and my brother's name and not my father's? Thank you

Asked on 1/30/14, 8:27 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Leslie Spira Leslie Spira Attorney At Law

Was the house in your name prior to your father's passing?

Read more
Answered on 9/12/14, 12:51 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in Arizona