Legal Question in Construction Law in California

Simple question, I live in condo complex. Gardner has to replace a leaky sprinkler valve (20 years old) in an underground box with two other valves that still work. Tells us valves are $90 a piece, and that he will replace all three for $400. Work is done, I Google the model number on the replacements and they are only around $23. Are we obligated to pay the $400? Do we at least have a right to see the receipt for parts?

Asked on 6/09/10, 7:44 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

He is free to mark up $23 valves to $90. You agreed to a fixed price repair, not time and materials, so you have no right to know his costs.

Read more
Answered on 6/23/10, 9:11 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Construction Law questions and answers in California