Legal Question in Elder Law in California

My brother is very ill and may be dying. I spoke to his doctor this morning and he said my brother seems to be cognizant. I am his nearest living relative and, as such, have been close to him all our lives. He is 86 years old and I am 87. We visited often and talked on the phone several times a week. Now, our younger sister who is ten years younger and lives in Connecticut and rarely spoke to my brother, has obtained power of attorney from him. She apparently went to see him and brought power of attrorney papers with her. It didn't occur to me to take this action because I was concerned about his health and not his finances. My brother owns a valuable property in Silverlake, California. My sister has been involved with but never married to a man for more than 40 years. Although I realize this man has much influence over my sister, I don't want him to have any legal say over my brother's property. How can I prevent this?

Asked on 8/17/23, 9:42 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

If he does not have the power of attorney, he has no legal say, only such influence as he has over your sister.

Read more
Answered on 8/18/23, 9:51 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Elder Law questions and answers in California