Legal Question in Entertainment Law in California

I started a tribute band dedicated to playing the music of Lou Rawls. His estate asked me to no longer use his likeness in my marketing, which I did. Can they stop me from performing his music in venues that pay ASCAP and BMI fees?

Asked on 9/24/14, 7:54 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Frank Natoli Natoli-Legal, LLC

I love Lou Rawls!

No, so long as his music his covered under your performing license, which it should be.

Read more
Answered on 9/24/14, 8:02 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Entertainment & Sport Law questions and answers in California