Legal Question in Employment Law in California


I'm a Recruiter. I work for a firm that specializes in the placement of Procurement professionals. When I accepted employment with my current employer I signed a non-compete agreement stating I would not place employees in the Procurement field for a period of two years upon my termination. I want to start my own business placing Procurenent professionals. Is this a legal and binding contract? If so, is there a way out or must I wait two years before placing Procurement professionals?

Asked on 12/29/00, 12:04 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Ken Koury Kenneth P. Koury, Esq.

Re: ''Employment''

Such a contract is illegal in state of California and will not be enforced by the courts. See business and professions code section 16600.

Read more
Answered on 12/31/00, 2:03 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in California