Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in California


I signed a contract with Fairfield apartments for a 1 bedroom 1 bath apartment back in june of 2009. The apartment is well up kept and plenty of amenities that are not common to most complex's. One of the amenities that was given was a personal concierge service. In september of the same year a outside company bought the contracts. They made a few adjustments to the grounds and kept the amenities except for the concierge service. They had not continued the service or replaced it with something comparable. No notice was not given to myself or any of the other tenants.

Upon speaking with the business manager, he stated to me that, " was not an amenity but, a service that was specific to Fairfield. Since, they (being the new company) did not deem it as an amenity they did not need to give notice."

This service was used as a selling point of the apartment. After contacting the service provider directly I found that the service is a "perk" of the signing a lease with the company and is active the entire length of the lease.

What can, or do I do???


Ron B.

Asked on 8/11/10, 3:15 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

If you can figure out the value of the service, you can sue them for breach of contract. Of course you can also count on your lease not being renewed when it's up if you do that.

Read more
Answered on 8/18/10, 7:07 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in California