Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in California


I live next to an empty lot with several abandoned houses. The owner kicked out the tenants about 2 to 3 years ago but no movement has been done as far as tearing down the houses.

Now there are transients, drug addicts, and possibly drug dealers dwelling there now. Last night there was a fire in one of the houses, the one closest to me. The owner simply says he is waiting to get approved for "loans". I feel two years of waiting is more than patient. Furthermore he doesn't board the windows or put barware or fix the hole that transients use to get in.

Can we sue him for public endangerment? Is there any legal course I can take? I do not feel safe in my own home after the fire.

Thank you for your time.


Asked on 5/04/20, 6:50 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Armen Tashjian Law Offices of Armen M. Tashjian

Sure, at $550 per hour you can sue anyone for anything.

Read more
Answered on 5/05/20, 2:09 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in California