Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in California

I live in San Jose CA. I moved to my room with my roommates and we all signed a separate rental agreement with landlord. My lease is 6 months. My landlord promised to email a copy of lease but he never did, instead after 3 days he sent me a new lease - this time month-to-month and threatened that if I do not sign this "final" lease my rental agreement is terminated and I have to leave in 1 month.

I have witnesses that I signed a 6 months lease (my roommates) and emails stating that room is available on 6 or 12 month lease terms.

How I can reinstate my 6 months lease? I do not want to leave or sign month-to-month.

Asked on 8/25/14, 11:15 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Anthony Roach Law Office of Anthony A. Roach

You wouldn't reinstate a lease. You've already signed a fixed term lease and moved in and just don't have a copy of it. Do you have any other proof, other than the lease itself, that it was a fixed term lease?

Read more
Answered on 8/26/14, 8:18 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in California