Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in California

We moved into a mobile home we are renting on August 2nd, 2019 after signing the lease and paying the deposit and first month's rent and everything needed on our part. Upon move-in, I called the utilities companies to get our utilities turned on in our name. When I contacted the gas company, they said the location was filed as "abandoned" and a new meter would need to be put in. I immediately called the property manager and told her the issue to which she ensured me she would get taken care of. We were informed it would be 6-8 weeks to get our gas turned on. We signed a paper that said we were aware we did not have gas upon move-in and were moving in regardless(because we would have been homeless otherwise). We waited the 6 weeks and nothing happened. We waited the 8 weeks and still nothing, so I contacted the gas company again to see if they may have been waiting for something on my end only to find out that there was never a work order placed for our home. So I then called the property manager again to find out what was going on only to be told I would be called back. I waited for a call back that never came so just before the office closed, I called again. I told her I was calling because she didn't call me back and the office was about to close to which she replied, "I said I would call you if I heard anything, which I haven't, I wasn't called back either." She told me she would call me right back, not when she heard something and she was very rude and abrupt. I waited a few days to see if maybe they were handling it and just weren't communicating with me. Then I called the gas company for a third time to which I was told there still was no work order for a gas meter at this address. Please help. We have a 5-year-old and no hot water or gas to power our stove.

Asked on 10/07/19, 6:07 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Armen Tashjian Law Offices of Armen M. Tashjian

File a complaint with the department that regulates mobile home parks in your county.

Read more
Answered on 10/08/19, 12:44 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in California