Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in California

I vacated my apartment April 1st and I had yet to hear from the landlord regarding my deposit. I contacted her today via text and she stated the reason for the delay was that there had been a delay in getting a quote for the bedroom door that needed to be replaced. According to my lease agreement she was supposed to provide me a written accounting of any charges within 21 days of move-out. Can she still charge me for the door eventhough its been 40 days since I moved out?


Asked on 5/09/17, 2:37 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Timothy McCormick Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services

Nope. You can take her to small claims for the full deposit back.

Read more
Answered on 5/09/17, 2:49 pm


Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in California