Legal Question in Real Estate Law in California

My next door neighbor bought his home brand new in 1987. He lived in his for one year and it has been a rental ever since. It is absolutely the worst house in the neighborhood and the owner doesn't seem to care. I have written to him (3) times asking for approval to build a short fence between our properties at no cost to him and he will not respond one way or the other. So my question is can I proceed with a fence which will be partially on his property.

Thank you,


Asked on 10/20/22, 2:39 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Timothy McCormick Haapala, Thompson & Abern, LLP

No. You can build a fence entirely on your property, but it would be illegal trespass and encroachment to put anything on his side.

Read more
Answered on 10/21/22, 9:28 am


Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in California