Legal Question in Tax Law in California

If PG&E purchased an easement on a property in 1940, and the easement is forever, are they responsible for the property taxes on the easement property?

Asked on 10/10/12, 11:20 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Neal Rimer Neal M. Rimer, Esquire

NO. They only have the rights pursuant to the terms of the easement. They do not own the property, only have a limited use. The "owner" of the property always pays for the property taxes.

Read more
Answered on 10/10/12, 12:04 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Tax and Taxation Law questions and answers in California