Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in California

My father and his siblings were all adopted by my grandparents in the early 60's. My fathers siblings were blood brother and sister. My father was the oldest then came my uncle then my aunt. It was two different adoptions for the three children. My grandparents have since both passed away. My father passed last year. My uncle passed away last week. Now on my fathers side is only his sister. My questiin comes from my uncles passing. Both parents have passed as i mentioned his sister my aunt is living. My uncle had no spouse and no children. My grandparents estate was already dealt with leaving almost everything to my uncle and his sister and my dad were paid out. Now being he is gone and we cant find a will and his sister doesnt want to be bothered with anything to have to deal with his estate who would be next of kin in this situation? I am his oldest niece i have 4 gounger siblings and 3 younger cousins from his sister. But since they were adopted and my dad wasnt blood related but only by adoption how would this all play out? Would i be next of kin after my aunt or since she was blood would her oldest be next of kin? Please help!

Asked on 2/04/21, 1:51 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michele Cusack Pollak & Cusack

Neither your ages nor "blood" status matter, so long as your father and his siblings were legally adopted.

Read more
Answered on 2/05/21, 7:00 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in California