Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in California

If a person dies without a will, do they have to go through probate or is there another procedure for them?

Asked on 2/14/20, 12:00 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michele Cusack Pollak & Cusack

The person who dies doesn't have to do anything! With or without a will, the estate of the deceased must be probated unless it is worth no more than $150,000 (joint tenancy and pay on death accounts not included.)

Read more
Answered on 2/15/20, 9:00 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in California