Legal Question in DUI Law in Colorado

Hello! My husband got pulled and issued a DUI. He has a prior DUI from 10 years ago that's still on his record. We went to court a month after it happened and they didn't have all his information. A month later we went back and they told us he could get probation. Another month later they told us that because of his prior record, he has to go to jail. We got a Public defender and went back to court another month later. After that he got approved for the 84 day program in Colorado for alcoholics. Now they want to expand the sentence date out another 2 months because they don't have all of the information and they keep "not seeing" everything about his case. So far nothing has been done and had they done something earlier, he would have already been done with this. They say he probably won't even start this until around February 2011. Is this normal for a trial?? We are getting really frustrated about this and would like to get it taken care of now but they keep delaying further and further. He is in AA and doing everything that has been instructed and has stopped drinking.

Asked on 10/21/10, 1:43 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Jim Forslund Law Office of James C. Forslund

It is normal.

Read more
Answered on 10/26/10, 2:15 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Drunk Driving & DUI Law questions and answers in Colorado