Legal Question in Discrimination Law in Connecticut

Can making one bad joke with a racial implication be grounds for racial harrassment?

My daughter who is in college had been accused by a girl in the dorm she lives in of racial harrassment. My daughter made an off handed joke at 2 am by carrying another girl from the room of the person who is claiming racial harrassment. As she carried the other girl from the room she made a joke saying "what am I your Mexican?" The accuser happens to be Mexican. The joke was in bad taste but not directed to the other girl.

Asked on 5/27/10, 10:19 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Locksley Wade Law Office of Locksley O. Wade

The bad joke may be the final event given rise to a period of racial/nationality tension.

Read more
Answered on 5/28/10, 4:24 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Other Discrimination Law (Age, Race, Sex, Gender) questions and answers in Connecticut