Legal Question in Entertainment Law in Connecticut

Fiction novels

Is it against the law to include the names of actual establishments or businesses in a fiction novel?

Asked on 6/10/01, 11:23 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Lawrence Graves Coolidge & Graves PLLC

Re: Fiction novels

Certainly not illegal, and unlikely to be actionable unless you portray the establishment in false light, or suggest sponsorship or affiliation between the establishment and your work.

Best wishes,


Read more
Answered on 7/02/01, 5:03 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Entertainment & Sport Law questions and answers in Connecticut