Legal Question in Appeals and Writs in Florida

If someone loses a case on purpose (by not paying an administrative fee, causing a dismissal w/o prejudice) in order to cause an appeal, because they want their case heard by the appeals court instead of a local court, does their intentional loss of the case forfeit their right to appeal? In other words, is there such a thing as implied voluntary dismissal?

Asked on 5/02/12, 1:08 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Philip Duvalsaint Philip A. Duvalsaint, PLLC

A dismissal without prejudice is not a final appealable order. Appeals court do not try cases, they review the decisions of a lower court.

Read more
Answered on 5/03/12, 10:30 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Appeals and Writs questions and answers in Florida