Legal Question in Civil Rights Law in Florida

In state of Florida, school buses are provided for students who live more than two miles from school. We live in Polk County Florida. My son attends Lake Marion Creek Middle. He didn't get off the bus to come home because I meet him at his stop daily. I called the school asking if he was in the office. I was told no students were in the office. I go to the school to pick him up and I see him a quarter mile away from the school trying to walk home. Which we live a total of six mile away. He would have had to walk past heavily wooded areas. It's not safe for an adult especially not an 11 year old. I stopped and picked him up roadside. He was dripping sweat and teary eyed. I asked what happened. He said a skinny lady with black hair wouldn't let him get on his bus. I ask forvher name. He said he didn't know but he recognized her because she works at his school. One of the administration, Mr. Crews, told him to sit and wait in the bus terminal because another bus was coming back to get him. No bus came. He went to the office it was locked. I went to the school. The office staff and administration gone. Do I have a case?


Asked on 5/08/17, 5:30 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Alan Wagner Wagner McLaughlin, P.A.

You have no damage, thankfully, so no case.

Read more
Answered on 5/24/17, 1:37 pm


Related Questions & Answers

More Civil Rights Law questions and answers in Florida