Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in Florida

Q: How to handle credit card law suits?

hello, a family member used my credit without my knowledge and now i have 4 law suits against me for credit card debt. I was not aware of the law suits until i recently tried to buy a car. Since its family i do not want to press any charges and I want to take responsibility for the debts and pay them back. My issue is that the law suits are passed the 20 day time the summons stated to reply by. I wanted to know how I can proceed to try and settle out of court preff. on some kind of payment plan.

Asked on 10/30/23, 1:06 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Alan Wagner Wagner, McLaughlin & Whittemore P.A.

Yes. File an answer even if late and contact attorney for card to negotiate. Then call your family member to get them to start paying you.

Read more
Answered on 10/31/23, 4:40 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Florida