Legal Question in Criminal Law in Florida

I was charged with introduction of contraband in FL. I do have a record. However when the officers collected the items from me the put it in a brown sandwich bag and went around the booking area showing various people and then came back to me and striped my uniform I don't know where the bag was at. Then we went upstairs to the detective and they took the items out of the bag and asked me some questions. They took me out and the items were sitting on his desk. In the report it states at that point the detective put the items into evidence bags. Aren't there proper procedures they have to follow with evidence?

Asked on 5/16/11, 1:12 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Craig Epifanio Craig Epifanio, P.A.

The officers have to show a proper chain of custody of evidence. Since these are very fact specific, the best thing to do would be to contact an attorney and discuss the case in more detail.

Read more
Answered on 5/16/11, 1:31 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Florida