Legal Question in Criminal Law in Florida

Hi, I got into a fight with my father last year at around this time of year. He has a history of provoking me for no reason and this time I had had enough. He is a violent person and even abused my mom and me when I was younger. I attacked him and left him beaten up. I don’t know the extent of the damage, but he is still alive. It wasn’t life threatening. He did not and still does not want to press charges. My aunt told me that a SWAT team came to her house looking for me and wanting to talk to me. That was two days ago. If it was something, would they have found their way to me by now? Again, I don’t know why they want to talk to me, but I can only say that they came looking for me. I must also mention that I have a mental illness and, when placed on the wrong medication-which I was at the time-I become argumentative and violent. It is a side effect of being on the wrong medication. My psychiatrist not only took me off antipsychotics (I need to be on antipsychotics, but, even then, some antipsychotics do not work for me), but he placed me on antidepressants which didn’t work because I am not depressed. Can and will the state press charges against me and do I have anything to worry about? Thank you for your time and consideration.

Asked on 10/31/18, 3:33 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Craig Epifanio Craig Epifanio, P.A.

No one can say what the state will do. You should speak with an attorney in person so that you can see if there are any options that work for YOUR situation. That way it can stay confidential and not on a public forum.

Read more
Answered on 11/01/18, 7:34 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Florida