Legal Question in Criminal Law in Florida

A person aggressively pestered me several times over a span of years to give him permission to take documents out of my legal possession. He wanted to enter the place where they were kept alone and then retrieve them. I never gave him permission or granted him access to place where they were kept, yet he still tried to physically enter once. Then, he initiated a lawsuit trying to gain legal access to the place where the documents where kept, yet never actually mentioned the documents throughout the lawsuit. He did not win. After the lawsuit, I asked him what he wanted from the place, but I never heard back from him. Some time passed and then he contacted me and tried again to get permission from me to enter the place alone where the documents were kept, but did not mention wanting to take the documents and the reason for me granting him access to the place was for an unrelated reason. At the time, I did not know the significance of these documents to the person. Now I understand why he wanted them in his possession only and no one else's. He recently committed an act of consumer fraud and these documents indisputably prove it. Only I can file a consumer fraud lawsuit against him because of these documents still in my sole possession.

Was what he did spoliation of evidence/conceal evidence/tamper with evidence?

Asked on 5/09/19, 6:40 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Craig Epifanio Craig Epifanio, P.A.

Since it sounds like he never got them it could be attempted tampering or spoilation, but you need to sit down with an attorney in your area to explain more details that are NOT in a public forum such as this.

Read more
Answered on 5/10/19, 7:43 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Florida