Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in Florida

My landlord is evicting me over false allegations from two people. I have never been in any serious trouble with the law. Far as i know my record spotless. I am caretaker/payee for my disabled younger brother, whom i live with. On the last day of January around the late afternoon i had a neighbor over with his young daughter. She was playing between the property when a rottweiler came from a block over and started being aggressive towards her. My neighbor (her father) jumped between them and ran the dog off while yelling a few choice curse words towards the owners property. About thirty minutes after that event i decided to lay down and take a nap.No more then ten minutes in to my nap, my landlord comes walking in to the residence stating that i have been selling and manufacturing illegal narcotics. Because of those false allegations, i am getting evicted. He said he had two reliable sources...those "reliable" sources have turned out to be the neighbors who own the rottweiler. I don't sell or do any illegal drugs whatsoever. Can i sue my landlord and his "reliable" sources for slander and defamation?

Asked on 2/08/13, 10:49 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Barry Stein De Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & Zachary

Your lease agreement controls. Have an attorney review the agreement.

Read more
Answered on 2/08/13, 11:07 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in Florida