Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in Florida

Refusing to return security deposit. They are arguing unsatisfactory condition of the apartment, in addition to others lies. Despite having claimed my deposit on several occasions, Iíve received their first letter 57 days after moving date (in Florida, 30 day perior to impose a claim).

While some claims are word against word, I have pictures showing that they are lying about the apartment condition; I can prove that they are making a false statement about damages on a downstairs neighbor property as well, and they are contradicting themselves about the return of the keys. I think all this is proof that they are lying and acting in bad faith, which makes me wonder whether Iím entitled to claim any kind of compensation on top of my original deposit.


Asked on 12/14/11, 7:38 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Cory Schnepper Levine, Busch & Schnepper, P.A.

You need to speak with an attorney to review your lease. Alot depends on whether you stayed until the end of the lease or left early.

Read more
Answered on 12/15/11, 10:32 am


Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in Florida