Legal Question in Constitutional Law in Georgia

Is a clause that waives my 4th amendment rights in a university housing contract enforceable? The clause states that any "school official" can enter/search our house (owned by the school, leased by us) for pretty much any reason. FERPA's definition of "school official" includes campus police who in Georgia law are given all of the same rights and powers as normal cops.

Asked on 12/10/13, 10:50 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Glen Ashman Ashman Law Office also dba Glen Ashman Attorney

Sure it is. You can contract away a right. And you have a choice not to do so, and live off-campus. So if you object, live elsewhere.

Read more
Answered on 12/10/13, 10:59 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Constitutional Law questions and answers in Georgia