Legal Question in Criminal Law in Georgia

Hi, my child's father was sentenced to life with twenty years under Georgia three strikes law. However, he has only had what I believe to be two previous felonies for burglary (2) and false imprisonment (2). The courts has it as four felony convictions. The inmate said that the two burglaries were combined on the same indictment, and the courts had combined the two other charges of false imprisonment on the same indictment. Nonetheless, I just want to know how can this person be considered as a repeat offender if according to the law in Georgia that says a person is a repeat offender in Georgia if they commit two "serious violent offenses" or three "serious violent offenses" that falls under a serious violent crime (In Georgia, they are called seven deadly sins) that they can be sentenced to the maximum time the law allows for that crime or a life sentence without parole. Please let me know if a person has to have two serious felony convictions or any felony convictions may count as a strike in order for a person to be punished under recidivism?

Asked on 6/19/19, 6:17 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Lawrence Lewis Lawrence Lewis, P.C.

Any felony counts against the defendant for purposes of recidivist statute


Read more
Answered on 6/20/19, 6:07 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Georgia