Legal Question in Criminal Law in Georgia

I live in GA and hired a tree service to cut some trees in the backyard. They did a great job clearing the property, mulching leaves and branches, and hauling away the wood from the fallen trees. At least that's what I thought. A few days later, as I was walking the property with the wife, we were talking and she mentioned that she saw one of the crew toss some limbs over the fence. She told me that she stopped and questioned the man and he said it was OK. As long as it wasn't hazardous material, it was OK to do. The property in question is a commercial buffer zone, and is wild woods but it belongs to a lumber business. The buffer is about 200' between the business' fence and ours. Well, I climbed on the fence to take a look and to my surprise, the crew dumped a lot more than some branches, They actually dumped a full tree (about 80' - 100' high and various widths), cut up in various lengths. I personally do not think that's right and now I feel like we should clean that up by moving it back to our property. Problem is that we would be trespassing if we went into their property without their knowledge and consent. Seems like a no-win situation here. Question is, if we do not act quick enough, and the lumber company finds out and chooses to pursue a legal approach, are we liable for the clean-up or the company that did the dumping? We honestly had no idea that they had dumped all of that over the fence. The fence has slats that provides privacy and you can't see anything on the other side unless you climb the fence and look over it so we couldn't see what they had done. I just want to make this right.

Asked on 4/27/20, 2:54 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys


Contact company face to face and explain situation and come to a mutially agreeable solution

Read more
Answered on 4/27/20, 3:15 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Georgia