Legal Question in Tax Law in Georgia

I am getting married and I owe the IRS a significant amount of money. I don't want this tdebt to affect my new husband. (He is aware of the debt) Is it best to wait to change my name until after this debt is paid off? Please advise the best way to go?

Asked on 8/03/10, 9:40 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Scott Riddle Law Office of Scott B. Riddle, LLC

Changing your name does not get you out of any liability, and does not make anyone else liable for your debts.

Read more
Answered on 8/08/10, 12:06 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Tax and Taxation Law questions and answers in Georgia