Legal Question in Civil Litigation in Illinois

I live in Glendale Heights Illinois. We have lived at Stone Gate Apt/Condos since mid march. We are renting from a private owner in the complex. We asked our landlords upon signing the lease if we needed a parking permit of any kind and were assured that we did not. Upon going into the office and showing our lease multiple times we were never instructed to get one or told we needed one. Also, upon walking multiple parking lots in the complex, 99% of the cars in said lot do not have any stickers and/or permits of any kind. We woke up this morning, 6/4/14, and found our car gone. We called the towing service and we were told that they towed it for not having a permit and that it would cost roughly $180 to get out, which we do not have. Is this a legal tow? Can we hold the landlord responsible for paying this, since we specifically asked them before we moved in? My child and my job depend on this car. Thank you, John Gitzinger - [email protected]

Asked on 6/04/14, 6:59 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Sal Sheikh

Are there posted signs in the parking lot?

Something stating you need a permit to park here and if you do not you may be towed? It may also have the tow companies contact info.

Read more
Answered on 6/04/14, 7:38 am

Related Questions & Answers

More General Civil Litigation questions and answers in Illinois