Legal Question in Employment Law in Illinois

I work for a company in Illinois and in a plant in another state a temp got her finger ripped off while wearing her wedding ring, which is a no no. After this happened our plant manager created a new set of rules in the jewelry policy, absolutely no watches, necklaces, rings, bracelets, and no earrings of any kind at all, not even studs cause they may get caught in a machine and get ripped out. Everybody knows when you get a new piercing it has to stay in for a certain amount of time, can they legally enforce this policy because it is my personal right to get a new piercing if I choose? I feel my personal rights are being violated

Asked on 2/04/12, 7:52 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Shawn Biery Keefe, Campbell & Associates

Safety will trump personal preference.

Read more
Answered on 2/04/12, 7:56 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in Illinois