Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Illinois

common area deck dispute

We bought our townhouse that had a shared 2 car garage that is shared by the middle townhouse, we are on the end closest to the garage. The people we purchased from built a deck over the shared garage which they deeded to us when we purchased. The middle unit occupant (still there) okayed the project but did not want to contribute financially. The middle unit now has approached us to share deck ownership because they wish to sell and its a huge selling point. The deck is right in front of our master bedroom and our second bedroom/office overlooks the stairs and partial deck and the staris go over our patio area. Sharing this deck would greatly decrease our selling point as well as invade our privacy. Do we have any options legally to protect our investment? Thanks in advance for any and all information.

Asked on 3/02/04, 2:38 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Mary McDonagh McDonagh-Faherty Law Offices

Re: common area deck dispute

You are already protected with the deed. Nothing left to do. Just say no.

Read more
Answered on 3/02/04, 4:06 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Illinois