Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Illinois

I signed a rental agreement on 02/21/2020 for a lease that does not begin until 05/01/2020. I submitted a payment for 1st months rent of $925, as it was explained to me in writing, that this was a holding fee. 12 days later I decide I do not want to move in anymore. Is the real estate company required to give me a refund for the 1st months rent?

Asked on 3/04/20, 2:25 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Can't say; it may depend on other documents related to the lease including your application. You may have to withdraw the "hold" so they can put it back on the market to re-rent. Since you don't say whether you've contacted them yet to do so, start there.

Read more
Answered on 3/05/20, 1:24 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Illinois