Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in Illinois

My mother (I am only child and she is not married) did her will 10 days before she died. She was under the assumption that her beneficiary forms were up to date with her retirement accounts and that I was named beneficiary. Therefore she left her estate (house and tangible property to her friend) valued at under 100K. I am down as a contingent beneficiary. As the executor of the estate I contacted the retirement plan only to find out there are no beneficiaries so it goes to the estate. The value is about 100K. Are there any grounds to contest the will based on the fact her estate is double of what she thought it was?

Asked on 10/20/16, 7:39 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Virginia Prihoda Law Offices of Virginia Prihoda

Go talk to a lawyer, bringing in your copy of the will. Nobody can advise you on how to move forward without an analysis of the document.

Read more
Answered on 10/20/16, 9:40 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in Illinois