Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Indiana

During a divorce it was agreed upon that my ex and I would sell the house and pay the debt and then split any remaining equity. Within the mediated settlement we were directed to use a specific realtor. For the listing agreement I requested to be an excluded person as my intention is to buy my house since I am currently still living in it. The realtor is refusing to allow me to buy my house for the sale price stating it is not ethical to the mediated agreement. The mediated agreement does not exclude me as a buyer and I would be buying at the sale price the realtor set which is in line with the mediated settlement. My question is can the realtor disallow me to purchase my own home if it follows the terms of the mediated agreement, i.e. paying the sale price determined by the realtor?

Asked on 2/18/22, 6:52 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Kenneth Wilk Rubino Ruman Crosmer & Polen

You should go back to court and get an order from the judge to clarify the divorce agreement and to order the realtor to comply.

Read more
Answered on 2/19/22, 4:36 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Indiana