Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in Indiana

If I co-sign a mortgage loan and I pass away are my heirs responsible for the co-signed mortgage loan?

Asked on 9/06/12, 5:39 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Kenneth Wilk Rubino Ruman Crosmer & Polen

Heirs have no personal responsibility for your debts. However, any assets which your heirs would inherit from you would be subject to offset of any debts or obligations which you had at time of death.

Read more
Answered on 9/07/12, 2:42 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in Indiana