Legal Question in DUI Law in Iowa

I was at a party and was drinking and I went outside where I was cheap shotted and knocked out cold then jumped, I have marks all over my body and it’s even evident in my mugshot and you can see blood. Everything I’m saying I heard from witnesses because I don’t remember anything after being knocked out. A kid with a cast got on top of me and beat me while I was already knocked out. They stole everything but my shorts which is also evident in the mugshot as I am shirtless. They took my money (20$), my chain which I got as a gift from my deceased grandfather, my bracelet, my shirt, and my shoes. I woke up and got to my car where it was safe and they noticed me and began to destroy my car. I quickly reversed my car to get away from them because I feared for my life. Keep in mind during all of this I was very loopy because I just got pummeled on. At that moment that was the best thing I could think of to save myself. My car reflects the savagery of the drunken college students. Shortly after, cops came and let them all go and continue to party, I was given a DUI and also a phony charge. It states, “a marijuana like substance in left pocket” that is the charge. Keep in mind I am a colored person. What should I do?

Asked on 9/10/18, 7:08 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Robert Luedeman solo practitioner

It sounds like you had a rough night. But none of that matters in a DUI case because it is a strict liability offense. You were intoxicated. You drove. You got caught. That is all that matters, legally speaking.

Read more
Answered on 9/10/18, 9:12 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Drunk Driving & DUI Law questions and answers in Iowa