Legal Question in Criminal Law in Louisiana

My fiancé. Was arrested for hit and run resulting in death or serious bodily injury in Livingston Parish Louisiana, and a year later is still sitting in jail awaiting trial with a bond we cannot afford. Along with giving the public defender the information that the tow company that towed his truck to the crime lab, has since had the truck released back to them to release to the original owner who did not want it back, has sent the truck to the crusher and its been destroyed (no murder weapon, no case). Ive also given him:

a security footage with time and date stamp of the my fiancé left that night 8:33:54 pm

a copy of the discovery packet he had given us showing the time of the first 911 call at 8:37:30 pm

a copy of me driving the route he took from my hose to the scene speeding I might add with the speedometer showing and a stopwatch

I took me 10:54:36 to complete. I also included same info for 3 additional routes none being close to 3 minutes and 24 seconds.

The public defender has done nothing with this information. Can I bring this information to the district attorney myself so the charges can be dropped against him and he can come home finally, without hurting him or his case?

Asked on 10/13/21, 8:51 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Andrew Casanave Andrew M. Casanave

Do not take information to the DA. It will be used against him. Make an appointment to sit wit his lawyer. Because of COVID there haven't been many trials anywhere.

Read more
Answered on 10/14/21, 5:06 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Louisiana