Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in Maine

I received a collection letter from Midland LLC. I sent a certified letter of debt validation. Within the 30 day response time all they sent back was a settlement letter. i asked for original copy of statement and copy of my signiture on original contract. Do they have to provide me with the info i asked for and within the 30 day window??? What happens if they respond after the 30 day window, which they have not???

Asked on 9/01/10, 9:34 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

scott logan Law Office of J. Scott Logan, LLC

They probably do not. The validation response can include as little as a copy of a billing statement. If they do not provide that within 30 days, you may have a claim under the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act.

Read more
Answered on 9/09/10, 6:26 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Maine