Legal Question in Business Law in Maryland

I have 3 questions that are similar. 1.) My boss is asking me to give my personal employee training notes to someone else. 2 years ago I had to cover my bosses duties for 4 months so I had to be trained & I took notes since there was no procedures manual.She came back to work for a year & had to take another leave of absence. The company hired a 3rd party to take over her duties & she asked me to give the new employee my notes from a year ago to do the job (a work manual still has not been done.) I believe these notes are my proprietary property. Is this true? 2.)I designed a work manual for my current job duties from my personal training notes. This manual has NOT been kept up tp date. I am training a new employee for my position. My boss wants me to tell the trainee that any notes that she takes are considered the companyy's property because the notes were taken on company time. I don't beleive this is true. Only any notes added to the procedured manual belong to the company. 3.) I am training for a new position that does not have a work manual. Are the training notes that I write the property of the company or my personal property? I am in accounting and the notes are how to fill out and run reports from a computer.

Asked on 10/09/12, 3:46 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Robert Sher Wagshal and Sher

In general, any work you produce as part of your job, especially on company time and for which you are compensated is company property.

Read more
Answered on 10/10/12, 7:05 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Business Law questions and answers in Maryland