Legal Question in Criminal Law in Maryland

Hi I just had an interview with the Maryland Unemployment Division for Fraud. They showed that my that the numbers that I reported in terms of salary were not the same as what I was reporting. In truth I did not report that I have a part-time job when I in fact do have one. This wasn't an attempt to mislead them; I honestly didn't know I needed to do that although I did end up reporting some of the wages that I have earned. Afterwards the numbers were close (what I was reporting versus what my employer reported) but still off. As it stands I have earned 8000 in unemployment. Will I be charged with fraud? This is my first-ever offense and I am about to possibly land a new job.

Asked on 11/29/16, 7:26 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

William Welch William L. Welch, III Attorney

No one can guarantee the outcome. Beware that anything you say to investigators or post online might be used against you. An experienced criminal defense attorney can help you evaluate defenses and mitigation.

Read more
Answered on 12/01/16, 12:53 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Maryland