Legal Question in Consumer Law in Massachusetts

Was it illegal of me to ask my adjoining neighbors in my apartment complex if they had been experiencing insect bites? I 've been reprimanded by the apartment staff, after doing so, told that I have created a panic in the complex. I asked one neighbor. The local department of health (and my physician) advised me to ask people in adjoining apartments if they'd been experiencing insect bites. I am covered in bites I've received while in my apartment. I have not slept in weeks.

I reported the bites to the apartment staff, and with the exception of one person, it's been handled very badly. I've been bullied by them, accused of being at fault, as well as threatened with comments about possible recourse from their corporate lawyers for creating a panic in the complex.

All this for $2,150.00 a month for this 2 bedroom "luxury" apartment.

I've documented everything as well as taken pictures of my many bites.

I'm fearful of the reprucussions I'll suffer as a consequence of reporting the problem to them and then asking my neighbor.

Asked on 11/17/10, 10:04 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Paul Lancia Attorney Paul Lancia

You are within your rights to discuss such things with your neighbors.

If this is happening, you should put the landlord on notice ASAP.

Read more
Answered on 2/14/11, 12:47 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Consumer Law questions and answers in Massachusetts