Legal Question in Employment Law in Minnesota

I was hired at a non profit and was verbally told that the job would consist of 25 hours a week at a certain pay rate. I also received and have a copy of a housing and urban development employment and pay verification form. The form states explicitly that I would receive an average of 25 hours a week and that the job would not be seasonal nor sporadic. The document is signed by the former head of human resources of the non profit. I was recently laid off along with the second employee at my position.The difference in hours was monumental including the last two months calling for 4 hours when I should have received 200 hours on average. The difference for the length of employment would be roughly $ 7,500 calculated via my W-2. Do I have case? If so where, how strong is it, for how much, using what law and how long would it take? Thanks!

Asked on 2/24/16, 6:33 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Anderson Anderson Business Law LLC

You may well have a wage claim/ breach of contract action

Under MN law you could get 14 day wage penalty potentially aldo

Call or email for no charge consultation

Read more
Answered on 2/24/16, 7:02 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in Minnesota