Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Missouri

My landlord sold the property I am renting. The lease does not have any provision for what happens when the property is solid, except that the landlord may provide written notice to terminate the lease. In the lease, the landlord is identified as a specific individual, not anything vague such as "the owner of the property"--it says "The landlord is defined as:". I have been paying the new owner under the terms of the original lease for a few months after the property was sold. Is the lease still valid?

Asked on 6/10/16, 11:08 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Anthony Smith LawSmith

Absent an agreement to the contrary, the new owner bought the property subject to your lease.

Read more
Answered on 6/10/16, 7:51 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Missouri