Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in Nebraska

Child Custody after parental death

If a Will is made out and a week later the parent who made the will commits suicide does the will take effect or does it even still apply?

Asked on 7/30/02, 12:32 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Talana Sayre Talana Sayre, Attorney at Law

Re: Child Custody after parental death

If the will was signed and witnessed and not revoked, then it is most likely valid. Wills become effective when signed. There isn't a waiting period or filing requirement.

Read more
Answered on 7/30/02, 6:02 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in Nebraska