Legal Question in Personal Injury in New Jersey

On May 20, Arnie Walters' car crashed into a train owned and operated by the Regional Transit Authority at its crossing in Smithville. As a matter of law, the Court found that the "Smithville crossing was extremely hazardous". On December 1 of that same year, Ole and Anna Hanson ran into an RTA train at the same crossing while George was driving them home from a party. Does the doctrine of stare decisis require that the Court in Hanson accept the conclusion announced in the Walters case?

Asked on 9/16/10, 10:24 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Jonathan Chester The Law Office of Jonathan S. Chester, Esq., LLC


Sounds like you should speak to your law professor after class and get some extra help on the meaning of 'stare decisis'...

Read more
Answered on 9/22/10, 11:50 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Personal Injury Law and Tort Law questions and answers in New Jersey