Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in New York

Before my first year of college I planned to dorm there for the upcoming college year. Total price was around 10.5K for whole year. I paid the down payment of about 450$. When the time came to move in I no longer wanted to dorm there, and they told me that it's too late to cancel and that im still required to pay half of the price which is about 5.4K, because it was in the contract which I signed. The contract had a deadline of about May to cancel but I signed it around July, so I wouldnt be able to cancel anyways. I didnt pay the 5.4k and now debt collectors are calling. Do I have to pay? What if I dont?

Asked on 3/16/16, 10:57 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Slater David P. Slater, Esq.

Not from the info you gave. When they sue, contact a lawyer. Good luck.

Read more
Answered on 3/16/16, 11:07 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in New York