Legal Question in Immigration Law in New York

I'm working in U.S. with O1-B visa and applied for new O1B on July 20th 2015 to continue to stay but haven't got reply yet. My old O1-B visa's expiration date is soon 9/30/2015 so I went to free legal clinic and asked the lawyer if I had to go back to my country but he said "when you apply O1B to O1B you can stay here after the ecpiration date if you are applying the new one and waiting for the result. it doesnt work for F1 to O1B, though." So I decided to stay here. But just wanted to double check with you if its true since at first he looked like not quite sure. Also he said I should have got receipt form immigration office but I havent got it yet. He said it's unusual. I didn't get it when I applied 1st time, too. Is that problem ? Let me know what should I do for this.

Asked on 9/26/15, 2:55 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Rahul Manchanda, Esq. Manchanda Law Office PLLC

Please call me at (212) 968-8600 to discuss your case and matters. Kind regards, RDM

Read more
Answered on 11/07/15, 2:44 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Immigration Law questions and answers in New York